The Transition Care Program is a collaborative initiative that is jointly funded by the Australian Government and States and Territories.

The SA Department of Health is the Approved Provider of the Transition Care Program in South Australia.

The Department, in consultation with health regions, Aged Care Assessment Teams and non government health, aged care and community care sectors, ensures that funds are prioritised and allocated across South Australia and monitors and manages the program outcomes. Service providers are responsible for delivering a range of services to older people assessed as eligible for the program. Service providers in South Australia include the health regions and transition care services delivered through partnerships across the non government sector. Their role is to consult, develop and maintain relationships with health providers and services that support clients with the development and implementation of their care plan.

The Transition Care Program

  • increases care choices for older people, their families and carers
  • provides a flexible program addressing gaps in care for older people, and
  • minimises inappropriate extended length of stay in hospital.